Search

Getting Ready for iOS/iPadOS 14



The launch day for a new iOS or iPadOS is always exciting. But before jumping in headfirst, there are a few steps you should take before upgrading. Well you are in luck. We’ve put together a few tips that you should do before making the leap.


How to get prepared for iOS and iPadOS 14


Verify that your device is supported. 


iPhone

  • iPhone 11

  • iPhone 11 Pro

  • iPhone 11 Pro Max

  • iPhone XS

  • iPhone XS Max

  • iPhone XR

  • iPhone X

  • iPhone 8

  • iPhone 8 Plus

  • iPhone 7

  • iPhone 7 Plus

  • iPhone 6s

  • iPhone 6s Plus

  • iPhone SE (1st generation)

  • iPhone SE (2nd generation)

  • iPod touch (7th generation)

For more information on features and compatibility, please visit: https://www.apple.com/ios/ios-14/

iPad

  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (4th generation)

  • iPad Pro 11-inch (2nd generation)

  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (3rd generation)

  • iPad Pro 11-inch (1st generation)

  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2nd generation)

  • iPad Pro 12.9-inch (1st generation)

  • iPad Pro 10.5-inch

  • iPad Pro 9.7-inch

  • iPad (8th generation)

  • iPad (7th generation)

  • iPad (6th generation)

  • iPad (5th generation)

  • iPad mini (5th generation)

  • iPad mini 4

  • iPad Air (4th generation)

  • iPad Air (3rd generation)

  • iPad Air 2

For more information on features and compatibility please visit:

https://www.apple.com/ipados/ipados-14/

Make sure your device is backed up.


There are 3 different methods to make sure that your devices are backed up

  • Manually backup using iCloud

  • Automatic backup using iCloud

  • ‌Manual backup on your computer

If you need help on implementing any of these backup solutions, check out: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203977

Alternatively, you can contact us at rooted.support

Check App compatibility


When upgrading to the new iOS or iPadOS there may be times when app developers are still trying to make sure that their apps are compatible with the latest software version. It is in good practice to check with your IT solutions provider or technical consultant before you upgrade.


When will I be able to upgrade?


Please note: While the newest release is available for upgrade today, time of availability differs depending on your time zone. Below is a list of times that the upgrade is expected.


  • Honolulu, Hawaii — 7:00 a.m. HAST

  • Anchorage, Alaska — 9:00 a.m. AKDT

  • Cupertino, California — 10:00 a.m. PDT

  • Phoenix, Arizona — 10:00 a.m. MST

  • Vancouver, Canada — 10:00 a.m. PDT

  • Denver, Colorado — 11:00 a.m. MDT

  • Dallas, Texas — 12:00 noon CDT

  • New York, New York — 1:00 p.m. EDT

  • Raleigh, North Carolina — 1:00 p.m. EDT

  • Toronto, Canada — 1:00 p.m. EDT

  • Halifax, Canada — 2:00 p.m. ADT

  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil — 2:00 p.m. BRT

  • London, United Kingdom — 6:00 p.m. BST

  • Berlin, Germany — 7:00 p.m. CEST

  • Paris, France — 7:00 p.m. CEST

  • Cape Town, South Africa — 7:00 p.m. SAST

  • Moscow, Russia — 8:00 p.m. MSK

  • Helsinki, Finland — 8:00 p.m. EEST

  • Istanbul, Turkey — 8:00 p.m. TRT

  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates — 9:00 p.m. GST

  • Delhi, India — 10:30 p.m. IST

  • Jakarta, Indonesia — 12:00 a.m. WIB next day

  • Shanghai, China — 1:00 a.m. CST next day

  • Singapore — 1:00 a.m. SGT next day

  • Perth, Australia — 1:00 a.m. AWST next day

  • Hong Kong — 1:00 a.m. HKT next day

  • Seoul, South Korea — 2:00 a.m. KST next day

  • Tokyo, Japan — 2:00 a.m. JST next day

  • Adelaide, Australia — 2:30 a.m. ACST next day

  • Sydney, Australia — 3:00 a.m. AEST next day

  • Auckland, New Zealand — 5:00 a.m. NZST next day


How to upgrade to iOS 14 and iPadOS 14

Make sure that your device is connected to power


On your device:

  1. Open Settings

  2. Tap General

  3. Tap Software Update

  4. Tap Download and Install.

If you would like help

Rooted Consulting is here to help you get the most out of your device. If you would like help along the way with any of these steps, please see the links below.


5 views

©2019 by www.rootedconsulting.org. Proudly created with Wix.com